Major Love


Major Love – comprised of acclaimed Canadian recording artists Colleen Brown and Scenic Route To Alaska.

The groove-laden indie pop-rock collective came together over a shared appreciation of vintage Harmony guitars and sing-along pop/rock anthems after they found themselves on the same dimly lit stage in the east end of London, England, 7000 km from their shared hometown of Edmonton. The self-professed “band of bands” mutual respect for each other’s craft, and undeniable musical chemistry quickly evolved to studio time back on Canadian soil and within a month, Major Love had recorded the foundation of their first album together. The rest of their self-titled debut was tracked live off the floor during a summer heat wave in Edmonton’s True North Studios with producer/engineer Jesse Northey (Jesse and the Dandelions). Contributions followed from multi-instrumentalist Elijah Abrams with mixes and co-production by Toronto-based pedal steel guru Aaron Goldstein, along with Kenneth Meehan (Daniel Romano). The resulting 10 tracks thrive at the intersection between Brown’s resonant vocal expression and SRTA’s spirited swagger.

Two of the tracks from Major’s Love’s upcoming LP have already been lauded for their song-craft. “Motherland” - a love-letter to Alberta - won a province-wide songwriting competition held by ATB Financial, while the powerful ballad “I Love All Of You” was a finalist in the international Unsigned Only Music Competition last month, in the “Adult Contemporary” category.

The refreshing collaboration comes from artists who have already managed to forge quite a career on their own terms. Colleen Brown, who is often compared to Joni Mitchell, and Carole King, has released an incredible 6 solo recordings and appeared on CBC q, Canada Live, Radio 2 Drive with Rich Terfry and her latest release premiered with CBC First Play. Brown has opened for several notable acts including Randy Newman, Jim Cuddy, Whitehorse, Rufus Wainwright, Frank Black, Buck 65 and Hawksley Workman. Meanwhile, Scenic Route to Alaska’s latest release, Long Walk Home has amassed 1.5 millions streams on Spotify and garnered them 2 nominations (Recording of the Year and Best Rock Artist) at the Western Canadian Music Awards, as well as winning 4 awards (Album of the Year / Group of the Year / Pop Recording of the Year / Indie Rock Recording of the Year) at the Edmonton Music Awards this year. They also enjoyed radio success with their single “Love Keeps” which reached #1 on CBC Radio 2 Top 20 and #21 on the Canada Alternative Rock Charts.

Band Members:

Jesse Northey, Trevor Mann, Colleen Brown, Shea Connor, Murray Wood, Elijah Abrams

Press Photos

Major Love - press photo