Layten Kramer


In the fall of 2013, Layten Kramer left his hometown of Canmore, AB to grow professional roots in the Pacific Northwest in order to cultivate his experimental-folk sound, collaborate with other artists, and experience life in the city. Kramer built up a repertoire of songs amidst the rainy coastal winter of Vancouver. In the spring of 2014, he gathered his belongings and returned to Alberta to reunite with his best friends Dean Kheroufi and Connor Ellinger and record a homemade EP. That summer, Kramer was awarded the Grand Prize in the Calgary Stampede Talent Search 2014, which helped to fund the recording of his debut EP Through the Days.

In October 2014, Kramer released his experimental-folk EP, featuring the acclaimed song “Sea of Glass.” The final production of the EP was made possible by an incredibly successful crowd-funding campaign through Indiegogo. Shortly thereafter he embarked on a two-month tour, playing over 20 shows across British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan alongside talented Canadian musicians including Michael Bernard Fitzgerald, Scenic Route To Alaska, and Jasper Sloan Yip. Both his EP and the tour were well received and continue to garner acclaim within the Canadian music sphere, including the JUNO Awards, Ride The Tempo, and Digital Journal.

Kramer is currently working on his first full-length release with band mates Kheroufi on bass and synth and Ellinger on drums. They are collaborating with JUNO Award Winning Producer Colin Stewart (Dan Mangan, Yukon Blonde), alongside the musical stylings of Kathryn Calder of The New Pornographers and Geoff Hillhorst of The Deep Dark Woods. The album, titled “For the Sun” embodies a change in direction, taking Kramer’s recognized folk sound and adding experimental song structure and lush soundscapes, all the while maintaining intriguing lyrics and catchy, clever hooks.

Band Members:

Layten Kramer (Vocals, Guitar)
Dean Kheroufi (Bass)
Connor Ellinger (Drums)

Press Photos

Promo Photo 2016



Album Art

For The Sun Album Artwork